Indian Wells: Look at the stars. Look how they shine for you.

Wogie Lemon Drop

For the second year in a row, Federbear and I watched Wogie’s first match at Indian Wells with a degree of trepidation. Igor Andreev, also known as the Right-Handed-Nadal-But-Shit (…I mean, dude’s even friends with Ferrer. What more need I say?) seems to be one of those players who finds an extra ounce of suicidal instinct in himself whenever he plays Fed. The combination of pace and spin from his forehand, his inclination to spank the snot out of every ball, coupled with the all-or-nothing mentality he brings to a match against Federer makes him a particularly dangerous player in the early rounds of tournaments.

But of course, in 4 matches he has yet to squeak a victory past Wogie McFuckerer, regardless of how close the match got. If you want to know why, just watch the second set tiebreak from his match against Federer today.

Furd’s backhand might’ve skipped off during the second set, muttering that he is no Robocop. Wogie’s first serve percentage might’ve dropped from around 70% in the first set to under 50% in the second. Break points might’ve been neglected like some poor unwanted child. Momentum might’ve shifted from the time Federer went up 2-0 to when he was down 6-5 … but at the end of the day, once again, Andreev became first person to crack. One miss by Igor at 4-4 in the 2nd set tiebreak was all that Federer needed to break out of his Vortex of Funk.Two serves later, Lemon Drop Wogie emphatically closed out his first ever straight sets victory over the Russian.

Sting like a bee, float like the omnipresent holy GOAT…

Wogie

Wogie Running Forehand

Wogie Canvas

On a side note, I liked this answer from Lemon’s pressure.

Q. If you could take anybody’s shots, whose shots would you take? You’re famous for your phenomenal forehand. What shot would you take from the other players?

ROGER FEDERER: Um, well, I guess always a good serve is a good start, you know. Then you pick the obvious suspect, you know. The ones who are hitting aces and unreturnable serves and can clutch serve all day.

One of those guys, you know, one of the big guys, like John or Karlovic or Roddick and so forth. You know, guys who have proved themselves over a long period of time, of course. And also have variety.

And then, you know, backhands and forehands all come from the top players, really. If you look at the top 10, you know, I guess there’s always someone who does a few things better than others.

Um, but then at the end of the day, you know, you’re happy with what you’ve got, and that’s what you’ve got to work with.

Then again, I don’t know how much, how effective it would be, I don’t know, Murray’s backhand with my game, you know. My game needs my onehanded backhand, I feel, and I don’t know how his game would work out with my forehand.

So we all get used to with what you have, and, you know, your strengths and weaknesses. That’s how you go along.

At the end of the day, you’ve gotta work with what you’ve got. Your strengths, your weaknesses … At the end of the day, you’re happy with what you’ve got.

Advice we could all use.

Wogie Forehand

Domi

A quick note on women’s side of the draw, Vera Zvonareva was her usual neurotic self, losing 64 67 46 to a tenacious Domi Cibulkova. But the most “upsetting” match of the day featured Mama Kims, who put on her stink-face and stank her way through an absolute stinkfest of a match, committed a total of 50 unforced errors (13 double faults) on her way to a 63 26 64 win against Sara Errani. My condolences to anyone who sat through the entire match. That was 2 hours of your life you will NEVER GET BACK.

Clijsters

The Frazzle Post for Monday (Aussie Tuesday) is up. Enjoy le tennis while I catch up on some well needed Zzzz, bitchezzz.

xx doots

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Indian Wells: Look at the stars. Look how they shine for you.”

  1. Deborah says :

    Great post, Doots. In total agreement as someone who sat through the Clisters match, waiting for Mr “Mellow Yellow”. I’m pretty sure his first serve went out for drinks during the second set so they need to have words.

  2. gamegrrle says :

    Hey Doots!

    I never did make it out to Indian Wells this weekend but now I’m going this Tuesday March 15th!

    I hope you don’t mind but I’m re-posting this announcement on this post from the last one I did. I figure you wouldn’t want to deny any of our fellow Federites a chance to see him, no?

    I am 100% sincere when I say this… I live in CA and I’m going to INDIAN WELLS on Tuesday March 15th and I have an extra ticket for the evening session… COURTSIDE BOXSEATS!!! CENTER LINE!! 6th ROW!! My friend can’t go and she was hoping I could find someone to buy the ticket from her.

    I told her I didn’t want to be sitting next to a complete stranger but then I thought about it and I guess the person sitting on the other side of me will be a complete stranger as well so…..

    Federer is playing on Tuesday so even though she can’t go, I’m going to trek out to the desert by myself because nothing stands between me and my Swiss Man. If anyone out there is LEGITIMATELY interested, or knows someone who might be, please let me know.

    They can just buy the ticket out right or if they’re feeling a little dangerous, they can take the ride out there with me from LA.

    I don’t bite, but I do drive, and I promise not to sing any GWEN STEFANI songs along the way!

    Thanks guys!

    GO FEDDY!

  3. jfk says :

    I was honestly surprised that Fed managed to win this in straights for once :P Awesome.
    Also Fedrinka plays tonight
    love the title of the blog post, will have the song stuck in my head all day :D

  4. Katarina_YYZ says :

    Great post, great song, too.
    Federinka won again! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,540 other followers

