Vids: Media Round-Up.


With a new trophy for Myla and Charlene to poop in, Roger Federer did the obligatory post-Wimbledon media blitz on Monday, all dorktastic and badass in his leather jacket and jeans.

Respect the shirt, respect the mid parted hair. Good work Roger.

I love this interview by the Tennis Chanel, which also shows the off air moments before and after the interview. The ease of exchanges between Martina and Roger makes it a lot of fun. Particularly this exchange:

Federer: I know. Life is … good …
Navratilova: Have you been drinking?
Federer: … A little bit.
Navratilova: A little bit.

Roger ImaDorkerer elaborated more in his media blitz on what it feels like to have his kids watch him win a slam.

I don’t know (about) other 3-year-olds, what they understand, but mine ALMOST understand the difference between a match and a practice. So there you go. Winning and losing? They don’t quite get that yet, either. Which is a good thing, I think.

I saw them this morning, and they’re playing games. And I was like, ‘Do you remember yesterday?’ And one’s like, ‘No. I don’t.’ I was like, ‘OK, OK.’ And then the other one’s like, ‘Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. I remember clapping.’ So honestly, I’m not sure what they do remember. … When I won in 2003, never in my wildest dream did I ever think that I was going to win Wimbledon and have my kids seeing me lift the trophy. So this is pretty surreal.

Source: AP/NJ.com 

Read also this great piece on Federer post-Wimbledon by Christopher Clarey, which quotes Federer on his genuine good wishes for Mandy.

I was extremely happy yesterday but also sort of, I thought it was very important to be respectful towards Andy’s situation,” Federer said. “I get the sense obviously how the crowd felt as well. It’s like three years ago. It was very torn. Of course they were happy for me but also very sad for Andy, a different Andy this time around.

You’d be happy to just stand there, hold the trophy, take the pictures, sign autographs, no problem,” Federer said. “But then you have to talk and speak. That’s the hard part, and I’ve been there. I know how it feels. I’m a believer it’s good to sometimes get it out. And I think he won over a lot of people and hearts from fans because of the emotions he showed in Australia and now again here. Because I think it does as well show we are human.

I know we put on the poker face out there when we play, and we try hard, and we smash serves and balls and you name it. And then all of the sudden when everything is said and done, it’s different, you know. We do care so deeply about winning and losing. We do care about what the crowd thinks. Of course our heart is broken, and that’s obviously where I feel for Andy in a big way. But he’s still got so many years left and so many opportunities that will come around if he just has a good mental focus now for the following year.

In other news, AP reports that Roger Federer is still undecided on Olympics flag bearer duties because he thinks he might let someone else have the honour this time. Arrogant douchebag, right?

xx doots

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,534 other followers

