Montreal Day 5: Dootsie is losing her mojo.


Peek-a-boo Jojo: REUTERS/Shaun Best

 

What is happening to me

Roger Federer lost in Montreal after being up 5-1 in the third set, and all I feel is a hint of annoyance over the way he lost, and not even the fact that he did. I didn’t tear my hair out, frantically compose a eulogy, throw my Federbear out the window or tell Roger to eat my shoe.

In fact, the most angry thing I’ve said about Federer today is that I hope Charlene poops on him. But he’ll probably like it, being the fat lump of putty that he is.

Have I lost my touch as a Federer fan? Where did my fretful frazzles go? Did you steal them, Nole fans?

More importantly, what’s wrong with YOU fellow Federer fans! (And don’t be offended that I assumed you were a Federer fan, you’re friggin reading this blog, of course you’re a bloody Federer fan). Why aren’t you all crying a river? Or petitioning Roger to get a coach

 

Eat my shoe! Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

 

Never fear, I will not let myself get into a fan-slump! Dootsie will be back to her normal freak-out schedule next week in Cincinnati.

In fact, why don’t we start now: “ZOMG, Roger has Murray AND Roddick in his section of the draw next week! But wait, he’s going to lose to Acasuso before then. ARGH!”

See? That sounded so much more like me, no? Geez Louise, keep up with the times folks – zen is like, so two-weeks-ago?!

 

Here’s Roger’s oversimplified version of events: 

 

“It’s obviously disappointing but you know, that’s what Jo does—he doesn’t make a return for an hour and then he puts in a few and than all of a sudden he’s back in the match,” Federer said. “I should never have allowed it but it happened, so it’s a pity.”

“It’s great to get some matches in ahead of Cincinnati and the U.S. Open,” Federer said. “But my goal wasn’t to just to play matches and do press conferences. The whole trip here was to do well and try to win the tournament.”

 

Well, at least he had the right attitude about trying to win. 

Oh shut up Dootsie! What am I, trying to compliment him now? Don’t roll your eyes, I am just as disgusted with my lack of critical angst

 

The Real World No 2: REUTERS/Shaun Best

 

In other matches, Rafa lost to del Potro, which the vast majority of people (apart from me apparently) predicted to happen. Del Poopoo, unlike Roger, was able to close out a 5-1 lead and take the match 7-6 6-1. Dude’s not doing anything wrong at the moment, even if he bores the living daylights out of me. 

 

Yawn: REUTERS/Shaun Best

 

Muz won too, against Davo.

Yeah let’s move on. I don’t want to think about the dystopia in which Toothface lives one spot above Rafa.

 

Not funny: REUTERS/Shaun Best

 

It was a bad day at the office to Djokovic too, who lost to Andy Roddick in straight sets, 6-4 7-6.

Over the last 18 months, Novak Djokovic has somehow managed to slump from “the Australian Open champ”, to “the perennial semifinalist“, to “Jo-Willy Tsonga’s bitch“, to “momentarily the second best player on clay“, to “the quarterfinals or earlier guy“, and now to “three times Andy Roddick’s bridesmaid“. 

I don’t know what’s going on with Nole. Right now, I don’t even have the indecency to keep calling him a “Stinkface” anymore. You don’t kick a player when he’s down. Moronic as I may be, but Dootsie still has her “fan morals”, okay? 

I don’t wish Novak Djokovic pain, unless Roger Federer’s standing on the other side of the net. 

 

An unsatisfactory day of tennis all round for Doots, unfortunately, I think it’s likely to continue. As much as I like both Roddick and del Potro as endearing fellow human beings, I don’t care much for their tennis. And as for Jojo – he might get on a roll and take a set, and I don’t see him as being capable of sustaining it against Murray for 3 sets. Surprise me, why don’t you?

 

Missing mojo,

Doots

Tags: , , , , , , ,

31 responses to “Montreal Day 5: Dootsie is losing her mojo.”

  1. PJ says :

    Hey dootsie,

    Fantastic uber awesome blog, by the way.🙂

    I’m also a huge Fed fan but like you I’m sorta “meeeh” over his loss. Maybe cos I think he sorta deserves it (and a kick in the pants) after choking in epic proportions for the last set. But again maybe cos he’s reach the milestone of like 15 Slams, blah blah blah…I dunno. I obviously care more about the GS…but urgh. I hope he’ll do well in Cinccy but it does seem like he’s having an effing horrible hardcourt season, PERIOD.

    Please not to implode for USO kthxbai.

    • dootsiez says :

      Hi PJ *waves*

      Funny you shud mention Fed’s horrible HC season – he’s actually had a better hardcourt season than last yr, although he did rescue it last yr with a USO win. I think it’s a mental thing with these 3 setters, he just seems to be more at ease in the five set format. He concentrates better and when he loses concentration, he mostly has enough in the tank to tough it out.

      We’ll see about Cincy, I’d like a good win over Roddick to start with, but somehow I see some vengeance coming Fed’s way there too.

  2. breadstix says :

    Curiouser and curiouser… I actually woke up this morning feeling quite alright, which is a far cry from the days of post-AO to the start of Madrid. Just a bit apprehensive about the Cincy draw. Urgh, maybe it /is/ payback time for the tennis gods for, y’know, winning against Nadal on clay, winning slam #14 at RG, slam #15 at Wimby…

    *headdesk*

    • dootsiez says :

      Woah breadstix, you’re awake?
      hehehe …
      The Tennis Gods like their little cruel jokes. I hope they’re in a good mood for the US Open. I said during Wimbledon that I wouldn’t care if Fed didn’t win for the 6th year, but really, I lie about tennis. All the time.😀

      • breadstix says :

        Haha! Amazing, really, I was up earlier this morning (well, noon-ish more like) than I did all week. Just shows, sleeping at reasonable hours is so overrated… ;P

        Maybe it’s good that he’s got that god awful draw for Cincy. More time for me to mentally prepare myself.😐

      • dootsiez says :

        ^ Sleeping is overrated period. Coffee is not.😀
        Cincy’s going to fab! You just don’t know it yet. *delusional*

        • Tashi says :

          Coffee and Diet Coke. That is what I live on.

          What a cakewalk draw @ Cincy. He’s gonna win that with his eyes closed.o_O

          This morning I rolled over and checked scores on my phone. And I saw it again. And I shoved the phone off the bed. =P

        • breadstix says :

          God bless caffiene. Whatever will I do without this blessed substance…? (Sleep, probably.:/ And not be up at 1am with A-Rod and Del Ponyboy for company haha.)

          Just back to lament Mr Murray’s soon to be rise to #2 in the world. Dystopia, much? *sob*

        • dootsiez says :

          Dystopia indeed.😦

  3. FortuneCookie says :

    Yup,it wasn’t the fact that he lost at all,just losing a match where he was 5 BLOODY 1 up and really really should have won!
    But meh,he still has a beautiful,awesome wife (who I totally hope gave him a whack round the head and made him to diaper duties when he got back to the hotel room!:P)and two ridiculously cute kids,and oh yeah,is NO 1 IN THE WORLD!So yeah,it’s still pretty great to be Fed…

    • dootsiez says :

      It’s always been great to be Fed, for sure!

      By 5-1, Roger was already in the locker room. It’s a shame, but since I’ve lost my mojo, I can’t muster up enough angst to give him crap for it. He made the decision to play just days before Montreal started, not surprised that he was so not in match mode mentally.

      • FortuneCookie says :

        Yeah,it’s like the whole rushed Monte Carlo thing after the wedding,then losing 3rd round,big life changing occasions and tournaments soon after just don’t mix for him lol!
        So I’m not too worried,if he bombs out early of Cincy,or GOD FORBID,US Open,then I’d be back in panicky FedFan mode in no time!Some are saying he “tanked” the match,like they’d know,I really somehow doubt that though!:P
        Did you know he really early on in his career got some sort of warning from the ATP for “not trying hard enough” in a loss,he sucked THAT much…Can’t remember when that was from though!

  4. dootsiez says :

    ^ Ah Cincy, Roger has Roddick for quarters, assuming he makes it that far (antijinx), that should be an interesting one. You’d think Roddick is “closing the gap”….

    I don’t think he tanked – why bother going up 5-1 if you were intent on tanking? He said himself after that he didn’t just come to Montreal to do presscons, he came to win.

    And yes, I remember that quote about “not trying hard enough”, I just cant remember what interview I saw it in!

    • FortuneCookie says :

      I know,it’s annoying me now,I might try a quick google search,hehe,yes I’m cool like that!
      Between that and trying to swot for my work experience at a big law firm next week,I’m doing your job for a week doots,lol!I’m flipflopping between law and journalism,so yeah,I’m not going for totally competitive job fields AT ALL!

    • dootsiez says :

      Oh no way! Those are my uber-competitive-backstabbing-ladder-climbing fields too.😀
      What – does law school mass produce tennis fans?!

      • FortuneCookie says :

        I think it must,tennis is clearly for only the most intelligent and articulate of sports fans!😛

        • FortuneCookie says :

          Okay,totally gave up finding that article,but why don’t I remember that Davydenko got fined for lack of “best effort” against Cilic in 2007?Was that part of the whole betting crap??Haha,on closer reading he won the first 6-1,then did 10 double faults to lose the next two,okay EVEN ROGER last night didn’t quite manage that!
          Oh,and is still annoying/hilarious that when you type roger federer into google the 3rd most popular search for him is ‘roger federer crying’,407,000 results for ‘roger federer girlfriend’ though,oh yeah Mirka,you did good!

        • dootsiez says :

          “why don’t I remember that Davydenko got fined for lack of “best effort” against Cilic in 2007?”

          Because no one remembers anything about poor Davo.

          Hehehe fun stats! The whole world knows he’s a crybaby.

          I thought that quote about not trying hard enough came from a video interview.
          Just cant remember which one.

  5. EP says :

    I’m only torn up about I had to witness it live with a moronic Muz fan beside me who wouldn’t stop swearing throughout the whole thing.

    Other than that, I’m not really torn up because… I dunno… My brain – and I wouldn’t doubt that his brain too – is still on those Grand Slams and the new kids, so for him to lose in a tournament like this is semi-acceptable. Semi.. Now.. .if he does this in the US Open…. I will be torn up. And I will tear things apart😄

    • dootsiez says :

      We’re losing the plot EP! We should be tearing things up now😀

      We’ll see in Cincy, I have a feeling I might freak out more over there.

  6. JFK says :

    Even the Swiss Maestro has off days.
    Any how I’m so so happy for Andy Roddick. I think he is looking great to take the title. I hope he can get revenge for his Washington loss against Del Po. Plus, I’m mad at Del Po for beating Nadal. If Muzz wins the SF against Tsonga he becomes #2. So Allez Jo!

    • FortuneCookie says :

      I’m a Brit and all,but Muzz being no.2 (and breaking up the Nadal-Fedness that’s been going on for 4 FRICKIN’ YEARS)just isn’t right…
      It’s too disconcerting for us here,come on we produced Henman and bloody Rusedski (okay,well HE doesn’t count :P),tennis players just aren’t supposed to fulfil or even exceed expectations set out for them!
      It just reminds me of something said on Mock The Week (an awesome piss take by comedians on the news) over here after Wimbly:
      “yeah Murray’s a brilliant British no.1 and all,but come on the British no.2 is Adrian Chiles (well known chubby Brit tv presenter) and no.3 is just the concept of disappointment…”

      Actually,I’ll link it here (go from like 4:50 for the whole thing):http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVuKHD3t99E

      And fuck it,because both Mock The Week and Wimbledon are awesome,here’s this one…

      If you have like 5 minutes spare,can GUARANTEE they’ll give you a few belly laughs🙂

    • dootsiez says :

      Ah he lost😦

  7. Ribbons says :

    IIRC, the anecdote about Roger getting fined for insufficient effort is in Stauffer’s book.

    Looking over Roger’s results in Canada/Cincy over the years, I’ve concluded that you could do worse than to bet against him if he’s playing anyone ranked above #23:

    2008: lost to Simon (#22) (R32) and Karlovic (#22) (R16)
    2007: won over Blake (#8) (F), lost to Djokovic (#4) (F)
    2006: lost to Murray (#21) (R32), won over Gasquet (#51) (F)
    2005: won over Roddick (#5), did not play in Canada
    2004: lost to Hrbaty (#21) (R64), won against Roddick (#2) (F)
    2003: lost to Nalby (#14) (R32), lost to Roddick (#7) (SF)
    2002: lost to Ljubic (#34) (R64), lost to Canas (#19) (R64)
    2001: did not play either tournament
    2000: lost to Clavet (#43); RF ranked #39 at the time) (R64)
    lost to Hewitt (#10) (R64)

    That said, current #22 is Stan, who Roger _might_ meet in R16 if they both get that far. Then again, Roger has no excuse for not being able to read Stan’s serve by now, so I dunno, maybe I’ll make my bracket a Roger -Roddick semi and pick my dark horse from another quarter. (One of the Philipps, mebbe…)

    • dootsiez says :

      Actually up until last year, Fed’s always won one or the other, but it also tends to be the part of the year where he takes a bit of a mental break.

      The problem is, he’s taken plenty of mental breaks earlier this year too, which makes me less confident.

      Oh well, one match at a time. I’m picking Roddick to win the quarter in Cincy though.

  8. Ribbons says :

    Ah, here we go – from page 26 of “The Roger Federer Story”:

    ‘The first-round match at the circuit’s first tournament [Swiss satellite circuit, 1998] proved to be a culture shock for Federer [i.e., after having had a taste of playing ATP main draws] and he reacted apathetically. His listlessness didn’t escape tournament referee Claudio Grether. “He simply stood unmotivated and nonchalantly on the court and double-faulted twice each game,” Grether explained. After Federer lost to Brunold 7-6, 6-2. Grether imposed a $100 fine against Federer because he violated the “best effort” rule stipulating that professional players must put forth their best efforts in every competition. “I could have disqualified him as well but then he would no longer have been able to compete in the rest of the circuit,” Grether said. Federer silently received the verdict. With prize money earnings of only $87, Federer left Kublis with a $13 deficit. It would be the only professional tournament he played where he actually lost money.’

    • FortuneCookie says :

      Ah,thanks for that!Haha,he double faulted twice a game,and yet managed to force a tiebreak??Lol,just how bad was this Brunold guy!?
      Can kind of understand the culture shock thing,if I’m thinking right he played his first tourney at Gstaad and played Agassi in Basel that year as well?

      • Ribbons says :

        Hey, easy on Brunold, he made it as far as World #646.🙂 *checks Stauffer and ATP* At the time, he was Swiss #11 (age 21) and Fed Swiss #6 (age 17). And yeah, Fed had made QF @ Toulouse and then played Agassi, and wasn’t ready to return to the minors. Plus ca change…😉

    • dootsiez says :

      Oh Stauffer, he wrote the world’s most boring book, but it’s been a good encyclopedia on Federer.

Leave a Reply

