Quotable Quotes: Okay WHAT? Scrap what I said about Rafa.


What’s with this abdominal injury business?

 

Nadal returned to the tour this month, but he acknowledges he’s not in peak condition.

“You never know. You never know,” said Nadal, who needs a U.S. Open title to complete a career Grand Slam. “We will see how I am physically.”

Federer’s take? “He’s downplaying his chances, which is very Rafa-like,” Federer said. “I understand. He has to be cautious.”

But Federer also thought he noticed something else bothering the Spaniard — a stomach muscle injury.

He looked a bit hurt in his abdominal last week, I have to say … and already prior to that,” Federer said Thursday as he munched on pretzels in midtown Manhattan. “I don’t know how that’s going to affect him now. You’re not only talking about the knees, but also the abdominal.”

 

From Roger’s interview with AP (clickey).

I hope it’s just Roger being overly perceptive here. Or maybe Rafa was just having some pains from not playing for so long. Otherwise, we’re in for the double whammy of knees and abdomen. Yikes.

 

On the Might Babes: 

 

He was a worrywart from the moment he learned his wife, Mirka, was pregnant.

“I remember practising,” Federer said, “and every shot, I was going, ‘Oh, my God. Oh, my God. Oh, my God. It’s really happening!”‘

Now, he said, is “the easy part” — no matter how much crying there might be (“You’ll try everything to make them feel good,” he noted) or how many diapers need changing (“I thought it was going to take, like, 10 minutes. If you’re a pro at it, it takes a couple of minutes. I like doing it,” he explained).

What sort of doubles team might the Federer twins make one day?

“Oh, that’s not at all on my agenda: ‘Girls need to be tennis stars.’ Not at all,” Federer said with a laugh. “If they want to play, great. If they don’t want to play, that’s OK. But we have great tennis genes in our family. Mirka was a good player, too. She made the third round here, you know.”

 

Boy, I hope Myla and Charlene inherited the right set of tennis genes.

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Quotable Quotes: Okay WHAT? Scrap what I said about Rafa.”

  1. JFK says :

    Rafa does downplay his chances in Grand Slams, even at the French Open. If anyone can bounce back from an injury like this, Rafa can.
    And Roger was munching on a pretzel? Cute

    • dootsiez says :

      LOL typical JFK. You read the entire paragraph, and the thing that jumps out at you the most is Roger eating a pretzel!😛

  2. evie says :

    Rafa was playing with a bandage on his stomach in Cincy. People said it was a pulled muscle.

    • dootsiez says :

      Oh yes! I noticed that, but I guess most players play with some form of bandages these days that it didn’t register straightaway. That makes a lot more sense now.🙂

  3. Eve says :

    I love how whenever he’s asked the Myla/Charlene doubles team question, he always makes a point to mention Mirka’s tennis career as well.

    And sorry to lower the tone a little here, but lol, the Fedal slashers are gonna have some fun with that abdominal quote.

    • dootsiez says :

      Ahem!

      Mentioning Fedal slash – there’s a fedal slash group on LJ that’s generating a fair bit of incoming links to this blog. It’s a closed group too, so I can’t see what naughty things they’re up to over there.

      Dunno if their readership is meant to be a reflection on my tastes or something. Hehehehe.😀

Leave a Reply

