Quotable Quotes: Oh-that-rumor-machine…


Belgium newspaper quoting Justine’s dad that it’s a 50/50 chance of a comeback:

 

…sans être dans le secret des dieux  », concède-t-il, son papa José admet «  qu’il y a peut-être des signes. Il y a deux mois, je vous aurais dit qu’il n’y avait qu’une chance sur cinq de revoir Justine sur les courts. Maintenant, je dirais qu’il y en a une sur deux. 

Et pourquoi pas si cela la rend heureuse… Mais je le répète, ce n’est qu’une impression  : on s’appelle régulièrement, mais on ne parle jamais tennis. C’est son choix et je le respecte. J’ai tiré les leçons du passé  : je ne mêle pas de ses affaires. Honnêtement, je ne sais donc pas si elle projette un come-back. Cela ne m’étonnerait pas qu’elle l’annonce, mais cela ne m’étonnerait pas non plus que ce ne soit pas le cas  ».

«  Justine n’a que 27 ans, son opération (genou) s’est bien déroulée à ce que je sache, le niveau de jeu n’a guère évolué en son absence  : tout est possible. Y compris que la Belgique gagne encore une Fed Cup. Imaginez…  : avec Clijsters, Wickmayer et ma fille (rires)  ».

Source: actu24

 

Rough translation:

 

“It’s not like it’s top-secret”, her dad Jose conceded, and then admitted that “there are maybe some signs. Two months ago, I would’ve said there was only one chance in five that she’ll returning to tennis. Right now, I’m going to say there’s a one in two chance. And why not if it makes her happy … but I repeat, it’s just a feeling. It’s her choice and I respect her. I’ve learnt my lesson: I don’t want to meddle with her affairs. Honestly, I don’t know if she’s thinking of a comeback. It wouldn’t surprise me if she announces it, but it wouldn’t surprise me either if that’s not the case. 

“Justine’s only 27 years old, I know that she’s recovering well from her operation (knee), and the level of the game hasn’t evolved in her absence: everything is possible. Including Belgium winning another Fed Cup. Imagine… with Clijsters, Wickmayer and my daughter [laughter]”.

 

I’m glad to see that Justine’s dad has mastered the art of rumor generation: to say a lot, but say nothing at all. What a tease!

 

Always happy to add fuel, 

xx doots

Tags:

Leave a Reply

