Doha: Not with a bang but a whimper.


 

So it ends like this. There will be no final shootout for the top spot between Serena and Safina. Dina made life easier for all of us by quitting her opening match against JJ after 13 minutes, citing a a lower back injury.

“My body just gave up, and I couldn’t handle the pain anymore.”

Back pains are a concern, but colour me surprised if a “wounded pride” isn’t somewhere close to the top of her injuries list. I admire her insistence on fighting a losing battle against herself and a tennis world too willing to criticise her (I myself included), but I’m not sorry to see that fight end today.

 

It worked out pretty well for everyone –

Serena’s No 1. With 2 slams, a quarterfinal and a semi, it’s hard to argue with that.

JJ’s YEC hopes are somewhat alive. With a retirement, hopefully she’ll scrape a bit more rest for the next couple of days.

Vera Zvoom deservingly replaces Dinara. With her Aus Open performance and Indian Wells win, I found myself wishing last week that the race didn’t have to come down to her and JJ in the end. Good to see she gets a chance to play after all. 

Everyone’s happy, right? Oh, except for Dinara herself. 

 

 

It should be clear by now that I’m not a fan of Dina, but trust me when I say that I’m truly bummed it had to end like this.

My objections towards her isn’t that she reached No 1 without winning a slam. Rankings are a technicality and sometimes anomalies happen. That part doesn’t particularly bother me. 

But if you reach No 1 without winning a slam, don’t proceed to then make a mockery out of that lofty position, which is precisely what Dina did. 

And the tragic part is that she couldn’t help herself.

 

 

There is no question that Vika wants it. But someone needs to sit this girl down and tell her that “wanting it” and behaving like an indulgent brat on-court are two different things.

Within a single game, Vika managed to snipe at a ballkid, mangle her racquet and smack a ball into a stadium. Point penalty, game over. And not too long after – match over. 

But in all honesty, I’m surprised it actually took Vika almost 2 matches and 5 sets to have one of her “demonstrations on self-destruction”. 

Stark contrast to Sweet Caroline. Now that’s a nice little rivalry for the future. 

 

 

Didn’t watch any of the Vee/Serena match. I was too busy freaking out over a single blocked ear and tripping over myself because I had absolutely no sense of balance. Alicia Molik, I feel your pain.

In the end, I solved the problem … by sneezing hard and blocking both ears. Except I then spent the rest of the day walking around like a zombie because my own voice sounded 10 times louder and everyone else sounded like they were speaking to me on a walkie-talkie in Mongolia. 

Umm … where was I?

 

 

Oh yes. The fact that Venus won the first set and lost the next two doesn’t surprise me.

Nor would it surprise me if Serena, who turned out to be the Real No 1 after all, fails to win a single match in 2009 after this.

 

And the moral of the story kids, is that we should all donate money to the Deaf and Blind Society for Christmas. It’s hard being hearing impaired. As I found out today.

xx doots

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Doha: Not with a bang but a whimper.”

  1. roadrunnerz says :

    Oh, Dina.

    Until this year I was so rooting for her to win a slam and prove everyone wrong.

    Now I mostly want to hug her and tell her to quit tennis and find something that might actually bring her a bit of happiness.

    Hope you’re feeling better, Doots!

    • dootsiez says :

      she might miss AO next year. And somehow I think that might actually do her a lot of good. An extended break and a “comeback” is just what she needs.

  2. JFK says :

    Well I feel bad for Dina for her injury. The YEC just got less interesting as there is no battle for the ‘real number one’. Oh well. I’m sure things will heat up big time in Australia.

    Oh and big Props to Caro for winning that match!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Norman Einstein's Rec Room, Sports & Rocket Science Daily - 10, May, 2010

Leave a Reply

