Doha: Fortune favours the glamour girls.


If you had asked me to pick the semifinalists at the beginning of the week, I would not have picked Venus, Serena, Wozniacki and JJ.

You see – the Tennis Gods aren’t usually this kind to me, but somehow, they’ve given me my dream match-ups. I officially fear for karma next week in Basel. 

 

 

With Caroline Wozniacki clearly sluggish from her grueling marathons earlier in the week, JJ took advantage of the depleted field and stormed through her final round robin match 62 62. 

 

“I was really disappointed after my first loss (to Azarenka) and I was a little bit harsh on myself because my tennis was really awful and I was frustrated,” Jankovic told reporters.

“But the good thing about this competition is not how you begin, it’s how you end it. I just regrouped and kept myself positive and optimistic and here I am, I’m in the semis.”

“I didn’t really know what to expect from her today,” Jankovic said. “I saw what happened to her yesterday but I just concentrated on trying to win the match and get through to the semi-finals.

“I tried to dictate the points and attack because I know how good she is in the long rallies.”

 

With the offseason in sight, Jelena took time to reflect on the year and her new philosophy.

 

“It was a tough year overall. Many things have happened on and off the court. I had a lot of injuries, some personal problems, a death in my family,” she said.

“It’s really hard sometimes to be focused on tennis and to only think about the game. And after those things happen, you realise that tennis is just a sport, and you don’t need to take it so seriously. I try to go with a smile on my face.”

Source: Reuters

 

You go girl. If JJ wins her next two matches, I’m shouting pink drinks. You bet I am. 

 

 

With Woz’s loss to JJ, Vika had to win against Aga to progress to the semifinal. She looked set to do so, until at 5-2 serving for the match when Azarenka faltered and was broken.

Suddenly, with her besty’s semifinal chance on the line, Aga rattled off the next five games to take the set and force a decider.

Clearly bothered by a leg injury in the third set, Vika retired after doing down 1-4 in the third set, effectively conceding the semifinal spot to CWoz.

Cue a chorus of “That’s what friends are for”. 

 

 

Kuzzy being Kuzzy, she turned up to play her best tennis when there’s personal glory on the line.  

 


 

Never facing a breakpoint the entire match, Sveta did her compatriot no favours and took home a nice fat check of $100K after an easy straight-sets victory over Lena Dementieva.

 

“I asked Venus before the game, ‘Will you give me something if I win?” Kuznetsova said. “She was like, ‘If you win, it’s good for yourself.’ I say, ‘OK, whatever.'”

Source: AFP

 

I’ll admit it, it defies logic. But Venus and JJ are both through to the semis, and Dootsie gets to party another day. Huzzah! 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

