Picket Fence Vid: Atonement.


…That’s what Andre referred to his autobiography as.

Try not to stare at his weird blink in this video. 

 

 

Agassi will be on 60 minutes (US) this Sunday at 7 p.m ET/PT,  and I’m assuming on youtube for the rest of the world within an hour thereafter.

 

Agassi got emotional when responding to the criticism from Martina Navratilova that Couric read to him, including that the former women’s tennis star compared him with Roger Clemens.

“Yeah…it’s what you don’t want to hear…I would hope…along with that would come some compassion that maybe this person doesn’t need condemnation,” Agassi tells Couric. “Maybe this person could stand a little help. Because that was at a time in my life when I needed help.”

“I had a problem and there might be many other athletes out there that test positive for recreational drugs that have a problem. So I would ask for some compassion,” says Agassi.

The former number-one tennis player in the world has no regrets about disclosing his methamphetamine use in his new book, “Open,” which comes out Monday. He’s not sure what impact it will have on his consideration for the Tennis Hall of Fame.

“I don’t know what the ramifications are….I had way more to lose by telling this story in its full transparency than I had to gain,” he tells Couric, ‘The price that that comes with is the cost that I’ve assumed and I’m okay because the part that I worry and think more about is who this may help.”

Source: CBS

 

Whatever your views on Andre, he’s gotta be one of the most fascinating figures in this sport.

Tags:

2 responses to “Picket Fence Vid: Atonement.”

  1. Jess says :

    Seriously, I’m sick of Agassi already – whatever. Victim my *ss. I’d rather enjoy current tennis and let him enjoy his spotlights and $$$ Zillion dollars.

Leave a Reply

