WTF?!!!!


 

Sorry for the impromptu MIA. And I’m not “back” yet. I have one last trust law exam tomorrow before I’m free as a bird til March next year. Yeah suckers, summer lovin’ had me a blast…

ANYWAY… just sneaked in to give you the WTF draws to frazzle over. And WTF is just about the way you’d describe it.

Group A: Roger Federer, Andy Murray, Juan Martin del Potro, Fernando Verdasco

Group B: Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Nikolay Davydenko, Robin Soderling

 

Hmmm let’s see, Mandy, del Potro and Verdasco are probably the stronger trio out of the two groups to get. Muzz is 2-1 over Roger this year, del Potro 1-3 having won their last meeting, and Verdasco’s got the hair going for him, I’m not sure where his form is at the moment actually.

As for Rafa, he’s lost to everyone in his group the last time they played, but I’m not exactly to depending on the Sod or Davo to take him down. Simply because the Sod and Davo aren’t the type you can depend on. 

Oh, and did I mention NO ONE’S RANKING IS SAFE? 

So to quote Roger, “it’s killing me…”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “WTF?!!!!”

  1. Dippy says :

    Blimey, Group A is like sucide group. All those jokers beaten Rog before except for Nando. Yikes!!!

  2. Mia says :

    Yep, TMF’s is the Group of Death. Ye tennis, gods, it is nearly Christmas. Would it be too much to ask for Roger to get the WTF Cup?

  3. evie says :

    This year is so much more fun than last year when Fed was hurting with his back and Rafa was out altogether. It’s true, any group with Davy is the more cupcake of the two, but it’s tough for everyone no matter how you look at it. Andy is probably more dangerous than even usual because it’s London, but there are still a lot of injuries lurking, esp in Fed’s group.

    • meretricula says :

      …didn’t Davy make the final last year? and he’s been playing really well lately.

      • dootsiez says :

        Hmmm, he lost to Sod last week in Paris. With Davy @ WTF, he’s always running the risk of burning out. I thought last year’s final run was more due to a depleted field than anything.

        Of course, had Murray not decided to go all out on Federer and tire himself out in the process ….

  4. pban says :

    How did no4 and 5 land in the same group? why don’t they just go by the no.s….odd no.s in one and even no.s in another.And o tennis gods why does Roger always get the tougher of the 2 groups ,and his form being where it is he too falls into the non-dependable category😦 Icertainly would prefer koyla to delpoop

  5. Jack says :

    I’m actually ok with Rogers group. For me, soderling is more dangerous than verdasco, davydenko recent form has been more consistent than del potro and djokovic has all the confidence going into London. It’s still a tough draw though

    Also, we finally get a Nadal-Soderling rematch!!!

    • dootsiez says :

      Or you could look at it this way: del potro and murray have both beaten Fed this year. The only person to beat Fed in Nadal’s group is Djoko, and Fed still leads the H2H in that.

      *frazzle*

      • Jack says :

        hey, what you trying to do, frazzle me to death!

        Now i’m starting to freak out after hearing Rogers group being described as the “group of death”. Never good word to hear for a fed fan.

        Also, dreading what the british press will write IF murray beats fed. i mean, maybe its because we suck at sports, but every time murray beaten fed, they make it out like he’s won a grand slam and they always over exaggerate everything.

  6. roadrunnerz says :

    Yikes.

    That draw totally makes me frazzle!😦

    I don’t trust Federpoop’s form right now, and unless Delopoop and Murray really are carrying an injury there’s a decent chance either or both of them could beat him.

    I wish he could switch places with Rafa….

  7. mgasol says :

    I think that this draw really is a matter of perspective. I’ve heard Rafans bitch about how tough his draw is and how he’s never going to get out of it unscathed. And of course Federors would also complain of Fed’s draw with Muzz and Delpo in it. Overall, i think that Fed will come out on top for the year-end no. 1 with Rafa playing more like a top 20 player rather than a top 2, unless, of course, Fed decides he would rather be home with the wifey and the kiddies than be no. 1 (like THAT would ever happen!). As for the WTF winner, Djoko looks unstoppable, to be quite honest. I wouldn’t be surprised if he wins London. However, as I have always been an optimist, Fed and Delpo (HA!) will still be my pick for the ATP Draw Challenge (if there was one for the WTF, which there isn’t) .🙂

    • Alex says :

      DelPoop is totally tired/injured and will go 0-3 in his group. That leaves Verdasco as the wild-card.

    • dootsiez says :

      Alex, I think it might be time that delpo got over himself, frankly.

      And mgasol, I don’t think Djoko looks unstoppable. The fact that he’s won a few tournaments since the US Open hasn’t spoken for his actual level of tennis or the level of competition he’s faced, even against Fed and Nadal.

      Of course, I stand to be corrected on that.

      • mgasol says :

        well, the term came from Rafa himself, so… hehe.😀 and you must admit that of the lot, he’s playing the best tennis right now. Regarding Del Potro, I said I’m optimistic, not delusional! Of course I’m not expecting him to actually win. But a tiny, teeny bit of voice in my heart will still be rooting for him to go all the way. Do you know how much points this boy has lost me in the ATP Draw Challenge? With me penciling him for the win and him exiting on the first round?! Really, it’s more of a love-hate relationship than a love-love one. hehe.🙂

  8. pban says :

    Roger against anybody nowadays in a 3 set match is enough to give me panic attacks.Only thing going for us is that Roger generally takes this tourney as a 5th slam, so heres keeping all our fingers and toes crossed. As for a repeat of RG2009 only the wimby fortnight can induce frazzles comparable to that magnificent week of sleepless nights,ulcers and living each day in a state of manic terror(I think Iused up a year’s worth of adrenaline in that one week) and(hear this Roger)I don’t have the strength to go through that again.

  9. Alex says :

    How is Davy a cupcake? He spanked Nole & Rafa in Shanghai and has won 4 titles in the last 4 months. He’s very dangerous and could very well advance to the semis.

    • dootsiez says :

      Davy isn’t a cupcake against Nadal or Djoko, but he’s 0-12 against Fed or something equally ridiculous. I’d be surprised if he ever believed he could beat Federer.

  10. PJ says :

    Ugh. Rog’s group is like “DIE” and Rafa’s, on first glance, looks like the cupcake but when I think about how he’s lost to all three of the guys in their last matches, it’s like “DIE HARDER”.

    If anything I’m really looking forward to Bobby Sod v Rafa rematch but I have this sinking feeling that Bobby Sod is gonna choke and lose it (DON’T ASK ME WHY).

    And I’m so worried for the Fed against Mandy Murray BECAUSE he may be starting to develop the Rafa mental block against this guy…ARGHHH. And Delpo…bah. I just hope hope hope HOPE that Rog steamrolls Delpo 6-0, 6- negative 7 or something. Sorry, still having USO rage.

    I’ll book my cardiologist for November 22 – November 29.

  11. Liz says :

    Welcome back to tennis world, dootsiez!🙂

    My initial impression is that Roger has the harder draw, but let’s face it, when you get to this event, no draw is easy. You could say (if you were hoping to anger the tennis gods) that Murray and Delpo have been injured recently, and Verdasco has not been much of a threat to Roger. Of course, I do not wish to anger the tennis gods, so I would never say that!

    The two I’m most worried about (for Roger’s sake) are Rafa and Nole.

  12. Salma says :

    That photo just has something special about it. I love it when you use it in your posts.

  13. sazzylove says :

    Even in sideview, Muray looks unacttractive!

    Anyway, here’s hoping that Roger is all set and ready to conquer all his past conquerors!

  14. Ribbons says :

    It’ll all be good: if Fed and Rafa make it to the final, the world will be back on its proper axis (and I will stay the hell away from the tennisworld forums until the smoke clears), and if the last two men standing are Verdasco and Soderling, it’ll be yet more proof that the tennis gods have a sick sense of humor, and that will amuse me.

    • dootsiez says :

      Oh I don’t share your sense of humour Ribbons. If the Sod and Verdasco are indeed the last two standing, I might need a toilet bowl to throw up into. With much love for the two of them of course.😉

Leave a Reply

