Picket Fence Vids: Adopt me!


Thanks to FortuneCookie for posting these in the comments section. I thought they deserved their own damn post.

 

 

FACT: Robert and Lynnette are the world’s most awesome tennis parents. I cannot believe how friggin balanced they are as human beings. 

And also, they passed on good genes. Yer know?! 

 

 

Yes Roger. I have indeed changed my mind: 

I still want to have yo’ babies. 

 

EDIT//

Because I can’t be bothered starting an extra post: the Armada has been busily preparing for the Davis Cup final this weekend. Word is that Nadal’s back problem in London was nothing serious.

 

 

Somewhere in a hotel room in Prague, Berdych is downing his 6th beer in angst.

Tags:

13 responses to “Picket Fence Vids: Adopt me!”

  1. Jack says :

    Totally agree, Robert and Lynette are the most awesome tennis parents!!!

    Sometimes I think they don’t get the credit they deserve because the media focuses on the crazy parents like Yuri Sharapov, The Djokovics, and to the total extreme Damir Dokic.

    They have passed on good genes. I’d want the hair, not so sure i want the potato nose🙂

    Also, my nickname for Robert Federer is “Super Mario!”

    • dootsiez says :

      Nooooo! Mario Ancic feels robbed now.

      Hehehe, not sure about the potato nose myself, but I’d totally take the hair, and the puny left arm, and monkey face … err … if I were a guy.

    • Mia says :

      That’s one more factor that Fed also shares with Pete Sampras – totally sane and not-tennis-crazy (in a good way) parents. See, you don’t have to have a monster breathing down your neck to excel.

  2. LongLiveKingRog says :

    awesomeness personified. Was Roger slightly emotional in that speech? Can’t believe I miss that bit last week!!!! no one can pull off that chocolatey colour combo better.

    • dootsiez says :

      Yeah he totally was about to break out the tears when he mentioned having two girls. Pffft you crybaby Fed!

      • LongLiveKingRog says :

        This crying trait of his is just soooooo endearing. *******awwwww******** If ever any man comes close to getting my ovaries explode, it is Roger. =)

  3. mgasol says :

    oh my goodness, Roger speaks like his father! I almost jumped out of my seat when Papa Fed started speaking! And yeah, you’re right. They are the coolest tennis parents ever. Roger is so lucky to have such a loving family environment. If I remember correctly, there was this story about Papa Fed scolding Roger after he threw a hissy fit on court. Obviously, the Federers are more concerned with raising a good man than a great tennis player. When Roger eventually writes a book, I bet there won’t be tales of his parents shoving tennis down his throat (a la Agassi). Instead, there will only be stories of a wonderful childhood.🙂

    • dootsiez says :

      Yeah I did a double take when I heard Papa Fed too.

      Fed’s parents are pure class, esp given how they congratulated Nadal on the Wimb08 win.

      I think it’s largely that tennis wasn’t their ambition for Roger. Fed chose the sport himself without their urging. And so they weren’t so concerned if he didn’t win slams, or reach No 1. Pity that hardly ever gets mentioned in the media, it’ll be a nice change from the Damir Dokic craziness.

  4. Mia says :

    Judging from Papa Robert’s head of hair, Roger won’t be having baldness issues anytime soon.

    • dootsiez says :

      Yes. But he may be needing bigger pants.😉

      • Salma says :

        LOL LOL WIN! When my mum first ever saw papa fed (a la wimb08) she was like “this is Federer in a couple of years time once he retires from tennis.” She also said the same about Nadal and comparing him to his dad.

  5. pban says :

    But Roger has not inherited his papy’s(Ithink that is what he calls his dad🙂 )figure, he is taller and of a more slender frame…..you know the one that looks good while playing tennis in a suit. But you are right he has been raised in a very sane and stable environment and Mirka has just continued the good work.

  6. GRACE says :

    The fact of having such supporting family I think is one of the things that helped him to be such a great tennis player an big human beinig too.

Leave a Reply

