Up North: Oh by the way, they won.


Just a short one for the sake of completeness.

Tennis is hardly fun when the top seeds crush their opponents like canned tomatoes. Or is it?

He had a tougher customer than his previous opponent, but the result was the same – Roger Federer dispatched Safin-clone Korolev in straight sets – 62 64 – to progress through to the quarterfinal. 

 

 

For the neurotic ones amongst you … err, us, the frazzling starts tonight as Feddy le teddy takes on Ernie Gulbis for a spot in the semifinals. It’s a match-up that many have looked forward to, as Gulbis has played everyone in the top 4 except for Poop.

In other matches, Davo had less trouble than expected with Roger’s brofriend Marco Chiudinelli, winning 6-3, 6-4. But Kolya revealed post-match that he didn’t have the best start to the year, having fallen ill during the offseason.

 

“I am surprised to have won the match in two sets,” Davydenko said. “I practised for only two weeks and then I fell sick. I was on medicine before coming here, so I am still struggling with my shots.”

 

Ngawwww.

Given that Davo is on Roger’s side of the draw, I’ll save the crocodile tears for after the quarterfinals, heh?

Like Fed and Davo, Rafa has also been in fine form this tournament, beating Potato 6-2, 6-2.

 

“I am happy with my form,” Nadal said. “This was confirmation that I am playing well.”

 

That’s nice. Highlights are nice too! Albeit a sad reminder that my youtube account is about as well-kept as my toad-infested backyard. 

 

Give’em the old frazzle dazzle.

xx doots

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Up North: Oh by the way, they won.”

  1. pban says :

    I know big time frazzling tonight, it is worse when there is no telecast and you are totally depending on live scoring** FRAZZLE **

  2. pban says :

    not here no… considering the fact that I behave like a neurotic zombie (is that even physically possible) when I watch him play live so you can imagine my state during Fed’s matches when I can’t see them, I wouldn’t wish it even on a murraymaniac.

  3. Mia says :

    Waiting for His Fedness vs. Count Ernests. Tee-hee and I saw from the AAMI site that Roger has yet to confirm his participation. And they’re cutting him that much slack? Bah!🙂

  4. grace says :

    What a pity I cann´t see this amazing Roger´s match,they are not televised in my country. Today i´m going to try with fromsport.com,cann´t wait to see him play…I´m a terrible fan addict….

Leave a Reply

