Picket Fence Newsreel: G.L.O.A.T


1. Oh they’ve done it again.

After snubbing Rafa for the Sportsman of the Year in 2008, Laureus has picked Bolt over Fed for Sportsman of Year in 2009. If a career slam and a record-breaking No 15 in the face of adversities aren’t enough, then I don’t know what is.

Perhaps they’re just waiting for present Fed with a special category of his own – Greatest Laureus of All Time.

GLOAT. Has a nice ring to it, don’t cha think?

*

*

2. Congratulations, nonetheless, to tennis recipients Kim Clijsters (comeback) and Serena Williams (Sportswoman of the Year). As much as I love Serena, either Laureus defines “sportswoman” purely on results and not conduct, or … it’s a weak era. Or something.

*

*

3. Tennis Australia isn’t the only organisation plagued by internal politics. Just a week after Britain’s defeat at the hands of Lithuania, rumors of a change of captaincy are rampant. Both Henman and Rusedski have been mentioned in various media reports.

I may see this differently as an outsider, but taking on the captaincy of the British Davis Cup team is just asking for failure. There is only so much a captain can do when he has so little to work with. Why would anyone want to take a job with such high expectations and so little means of fulfilling them?

*

*

4. Indian Wells results:

Easy, breezy for Justine Henin, who was dominant against Magda Rybarikova. Pink has never looked more unpink.

Things were less rosy for Jelena Dokic, who managed to hold serve just once in her 60 63 loss to Vera Dushevina.

Her Aussie compatriot fared better, as Alicia Molik sailed through to the second round. It wasn’t Wozniacki v Wozniak. Or Pe’er v Peers, but feel sorry for the umpire at the Molik v Malek match.

And Kimiko Date Krumm continued to put her youthful genes to good work, blitzing Melinda Czink for a 62 62 victory.

*

*

5. I’ve probably just Simon-Reeded her, but with Serena Williams out of the way and Kim Clijsters perceptibly wobbly post-Australian Open, this Indian Wells seems to be Justine Henin’s title lose. But Henin has her sights set on more medium-term goals.

“Mentally I need tennis, I need to play. Emotionally I feel better much better than in past. Physically I feel better than in Australia and after Miami I get three weeks until Fed Cup before I go back on my favorite surface [clay].

“The goal is the French and Wimbledon, so I’m not going to play too many weeks in a row. I’m not clear about my schedule before the French. My priority is to be fresh.”

Sounds like someone we know?

*

*

6. An ‘eyewitness statement’ of Roger’s practice sesstion. (clickey) 100% squishability.

Roger’s father, Robbie, joined the practice about half an hour into it, while Roger was taking a water break. As his father was making his way to the court, Roger exclaimed: “That is me in 5 years!”

Hi Monkey! We missed you too.

xx doots

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Picket Fence Newsreel: G.L.O.A.T”

  1. flo says :

    Bolt is pretty amazing, but they should save it for olympic year. I dno’t think consider the career milestones and this wasn’t Fed’s great year record wise. But yes it is political. Hell, American Idol is political. Grain of salt: taken.

  2. pban says :

    Who cares, he didn’t win it last year and he did pretty well no?;) But Rafa not winning it last year was blasphemy!!!

    • Warwick360 says :

      I don’t think not awarding nadal last year was blasphemious because last year was almost like the year of awarding the athletes from olympics. Don’t get me wrong, i’d love to see nadal win it some day. But 2009 was not an olympic year, and i can’t see what the stupid voters saw in bolt which wasn’t there in federer.

      But hell, who needs that stupid award when Grand slams are the real priority.

      • xta says :

        rafa WAS “the athlete from olympics”…plus…

        • Warwick360 says :

          I know he was. But you know what I mean. He wasn’t the biggest breakout of that show (@ the olympics). But I honestly wonder (like dootsie’s mentioned), about how the judges judge the sportsmanship awards by. In my mind Fed exceeded Bolt in both areas of professional results and the way he presented himself off of the court last year

          Still I’d rather see GS number 17, rather than another laures.

        • dootsiez says :

          hehehe I guess people don’t usually perceive tennis players as Olympians whereas in athletics, the Olympics are a much bigger deal.

  3. Jack says :

    I think we all know Usain Bolt is superhuman but Roger did deserve this more. I mean, Bolt beat his own record whilst Fed broke a 10 year record and a more significant one too.

    But whatever, he’s already won 4 before. So one for all the family!😀

  4. jfk says :

    I really wanted Fed to get it. I mean…completing a career slam and breaking Pete’s record, regaining #1 ranking when everyone was writing him off. If that’s not impressive, then I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

