Newsreel: You beauty.


1. Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez. Volleyer extraordinaire. Fist-pump terminator. Natural-born strategist. The tie-dye to the WTA’s field of plain white shirts.

Like red wine, better with age.

Like ginger, hotter over time.

Ahem. So what I’m saying is thankyouthankyouthankyou for being the first player on Ivanovic’s “path to recovery” this week who did not hasten to roll over. Not that Ana hasn’t improved in leaps and bounds over the course of the week – she has reunited with her unwonkified serve, learned to trust her forehand and subjected me to less panicked  fist-pumps than usual.

All good signs for her making the second week at Roland Garros at this stage. Yet who knows? Really.

But MariHo? She makes a strong case for taking a sabbatical in the middle of one’s career, no? Rock on, Pepa.

*

*

2. The day was also a mixed bag for Ana’s Serbian compatriots. Djokovic retired from the Djokovic Open over in Belgrade after getting down 4-6 to Filip Krajinovic, citing allergies and “other stuff”. Like ear cramps, bird flu, SARS, H1N1…

Explain to me why the boy who cried wolf deserve less than my cynicism?

*

*

3. On a better note, Jelena Jankovic became just the 7th women in history to beat both Williamses in the same tournament.

Trivia time: Name the other 6. She’s in good company, that’s for sure.

As for the match? I have no words.

I mean. What? Seriously?

Like … how?

There were double faults, 17 of them in fact from both players. There were errors, dirty, dirty errors. And yet it was theatrical and woeful, it was nervy and passionate. Both players played to win, but neither seemed to deserve the win.

Serena served for the match twice in the third set, and had one match point. She was up 5-2 in the tiebreak, could and should have closed it out. But alas, she caught a bad case of Federeritis.

JJ? She hung on like a leech. And I say that with affection. It was one of those matches that was so awfully bad that it was pure entertainment. Rome, you are no longer dead to me.

*

*

4. And then, there was this.

“You know I would not cheat you like that … I’m not – [leans closer] I am not Justine”.

Oh Serena, you couldn’t be more priceless if you tried.

For newbies who don’t keep track of the Great Tennis Scandals of the Twenty-Naughties, let me explain – let me direct you to the “Hand Incident of 2002”.

As Justine Timberlake once wisely said, ‘what goes around (goes around goes around) comes all the way back around’. 8 years later, Serena Williams put up her hand to ask Jankovic to delay serve.

But Lady Jaja waited on no one yo! Janky served, thought it was an ace, but was asked to serve again by the umpire. She protested to no avail and a tide of boos and whistles. Incredibly, Jaja kept her cool and rattled off the next 4 points for the win.

“For me, when the server comes to the line the receiver had to be ready. That’s the rule, right?” Jankovic reflected after the match.

“I just had to regroup and refocus. I didn’t want to waste my energy – and that’s what I basically did.”

As for Serena, despite the loss, she has managed to exceed my expectations this tournament. Considering she could’ve and should’ve won this match, the signs bode well for Roland Garros.

*

*

5. Oh, some guy won in Estoril against Clemmy, 76 62. Most of the first set looked like this and smelled like turd:

The second set was a cleaner, more standard affair. Feddykins found his first serve and forehand, clocking a total of 11 winners and 6 unforced errors to wrap up the match.

Let’s hope it was a sign that he has gotten all the potty out of his system.

xx doots

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Newsreel: You beauty.”

  1. Jack says :

    MJMS confuses me! (yes, I am too lazy to spell her name). I mean, she can play tennis and she certainly knows how to play it on clay. Yet, she’s never gone far at RG! And I only just heard of her last year…..so did she turn pro last year??😀

    As for JJ, I am a fan of her but she isn’t Miss Innocent either. I’ve seen matches where she certainly taken her time to recieve serve.

    And I may not like how Serena never gives her opponents credit but I love it when she produces moments like this. It’s also nice to see that she’s forgiven Justine for the hand incident!🙂

    Oh, and missed Fed’s match but heard he got broken to love at the start. Must have fun to watch.😀

    • dootsiez says :

      Jack, MariHo took 2 years off the tour because she didn’t want to play anymore. So she’s on a bit of a comeback too!

  2. Jack says :

    For the williamses thing, I’m thinking Justine Henin, Martina Hingis, Lindsay Davenport, Kim Clijsters……and I’m just gonna guess the last two……Graf and Seles??

  3. caillean says :

    I think MJMS should shave thise moustaches :))

  4. pban says :

    Guess you were wrong doots he is still full of shit…..he is yet to win 3 matches in a row so the Pete record looks to be a goner.

  5. TennisAce says :

    Really Jelena, when the server steps up to the line, the receiver should be ready. . Really. I hope you remember that the next time someone steps up to the line and you are still fixing your shots and hitting the clay from your shoes. She did it to Serena on more than one occassion in the match. The commentators called her on it. At one point she was moving her feet and reached to return the serve, missed and then said she was not ready. On the one occassion when Serena had her hand up she deliberately did not look up to see whether her opponent was ready or not. The umpire called wait, she served, got called on it, and got to play 2. The girl is a drama queen personified and I for one have been long over it. She plays at the pace that suits her. She takes her time after long rallies that she loses to catch her breath but yet will not give her opponent the same courtesy when the same thing happens to her.

    During this Rome tournament one of the things that I have noticed is how many players have been using some sort of gamesmanship on Serena. First it was Timea with the allezing after every UFE and then drop shotting and allezing when she won the point, then it was Petkovic with the everlasting fist pumps and stare downs and Kirilenko with the screaming and in your face looks. Could it be that there is a conspiracy afoot to have Serena go off on the court so that she can be permanently suspended from the court? I am no conspiracy theorist but it sure looks that way to me.

Leave a Reply

