Newsreel: Sam Stosur pulls out of the Commonwealth Games.

Appreciate the irony of the 2010 New Dehli Commonwealth Games slogan – “come out and play“, as the Games suffer yet another “high profile” withdrawal.

In October this year, India will host the Commonwealth Games for the first time. Given the popularity of the sport in Indian (and other Commonwealth countries), tennis has been included for the first time as a part of the Commonwealth Games. Yet the field is expected to be weak, with Stosur – the would-be top seed of the tournament – announcing her withdrawal.

The world number five has decided to skip the Games to focus on defending her Osaka points and securing a place at the WTA Year-End Championships. Lleyton Hewitt, who led Australia’s Davis Cup boycott of their tie in India last year due to security concerns, has also decided not to compete in India.

Andy Murray and Marcos Baghdatis are also expected to withdraw, although neither has confirmed their non-participation.

Good news for the Indian players attending the event, with Sania Mirza, Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes all down to compete.

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Newsreel: Sam Stosur pulls out of the Commonwealth Games.”

  1. FortuneCookie says :
    Seems to be the provisional/wishful thinking line up…Muzz might play considering that he’ll be in Asia anyway (it’s week before Shanghai Masters),and with the quality of the rest of the field he’d be pretty much guaranteed the win (barring mental fuck ups)
    Also,here’s one for the ‘Murray hates England’ crowd,he’d get to represent…SCOTLAND,surely added incentive? 😛

    • dootsiez says :

      The problem being that Beijing can probably pay a lot more, and it’s the best season to visit over there. 😛

      And I totally forgot that Scotland competes in its name at the Commonwealth Games. Am assuming Wales does too …?

      • FortuneCookie says :

        Yeah,for some unknown reason (to me) we send a Great Britain team to the Olympics,and then all the states separate for the Commonwealths,so there’ll be England,Scotland,Wales,Northern Ireland,Isle of Man,Jersey,Guernsey etc…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: