Up North: Assassinate me sweetly, KGB.


 

That sums it up really.

One of my new year resolutions in 2010 is to stop going all “Damir Dokic” on Federer whenever he loses. Needless to say, I’m failing miserably after snorting a mouthful of water up my nose early this morning when confronted with a 6-4 6-4 loss by Fed to Davo.

Roger appeared out-of-sorts at times during the match, finding very little rhythm on serve, and fluctuating between decent tennis and wild shanks into the net or the tram lines.

It showed in his stats, Federer served at 54% with 2 aces and 3 doubles. While he made 30 winners in total to his opponent’s 24, he also clocked an obscene 37 unforced errors, Kolya not exactly flashy in that department either with 21 of his own

All credit to Davydenko though: if Federer appeared out-of-sorts in the match, it was mostly because Kolya played out-of-this-world tennis – serving hard, making 100% of his serves in the first set and moving tremendously well around the court.

 

 

It was Roger’s 4th straight loss to a top 10 player, as Dootsie moved her hand that much closer to the panic button. Federer appeared to be nursing some discomfort in his wrist during the match, at one point, shaking and massaging it during the change of ends. But he was having none of it in his post-match press conference,

 

“Yeah, he served very well, especially when he needed to. He played better. I felt my arm from the cold but it is not an excuse. He served well, many 200s out there. He made it difficult as the match went on,” Federer said.

“There is nothing to worry about my arm. I will be fine.” He added.

 

No excuses, just the way we like it. It’s either really a minor issue, or he’s lying through his teeth when we’re so close to a slam. Serves him right for playing Doha. If you ask me, it’s idiocy to play in a colder Asian climate right before the Australian Open. 

 

“I like to come to Doha every year. I’m excited to go to Australia too and I need some rest before the year’s first Slam.

 

Over in Kooyong, the organisers are passing out tissues.

Some hot legs and smoldering side profile to sooth your anguish.

 

 

 

In the other semi of the day, it was smooth sailing for Rafa as he dominated Victor Troicki to move into a final. He’ll have a tougher test against Kolya, as the pair is tied in their H2H at 4-4. Davydenko won their last 2 meetings, but admittedly isn’t feeling too confident right now.

 

“I don’t know for how much longer I can hold this level of tennis.” 

 

Dude, you served at 100% for a set. If you keep it up, I might have to throw a shoe at you. 

So: Will Rafa end his title drought at last? Or will Kolya head to the Australia with a share of the spotlight for once?

Tags: , , ,

28 responses to “Up North: Assassinate me sweetly, KGB.”

  1. Alex says :

    I think it’s time to push the panic button doots. Wrist not a factor? Yeah right Rog!

    • dootsiez says :

      I know it looked like it hurt him a little during the match, but if Roger doesn’t want to concede it as a problem, I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt.

      He better get some rest, cos that 22 semifinals streak is just asking to be snapped at this point.

  2. JFK says :

    Oh please Tennis Gods heal his wrist before AO so he can play lights out tennis. I promise I’ll never ask for anything again.

  3. whynotme says :

    Agree, I think it’s downright stupid to be playing in the cold right now when you’re heading to scary hot temperatures the following week ! Perhaps he likes to play in Doha because it’s near Dubai, but still… Though, we all know he’s not bothered by extreme heat so it’s not as if he needed to get accustomed to it or something.

    As for tomorrow’s match, it should be a good one with both playing great ! I think that if Kolya wants to win he has to make it quick and shorten the points as much as possible because otherwise he’ll be burnt by the middle of the second set. Today I thought he started to be really tired at the end, but Roger couldn’t take advantage of it unfortunately.

  4. Aggie says :

    Roger Roger Roger… Either he is indeed lying, or he’s just no match for Kolya right now! I guess we’re gonna see how Davo fares tomorrow against Rafa’s sublime tennis that he showed today. Coz somehow I don’t think Rafa will be satisfied with finishing second this time, like he did in Shanghai. Well, cracking match it will definitely be!
    Ahh, coming back to Roger, some of his UE made me cringe, I need to have a look at the stats again, but he did have more forehand winners, right? Rafa wasn’t impressed either, did you see him with El Aynaoui, watching Roger?
    I just want the Belgian final already!🙂

  5. Jack says :

    This loss makes me nervous for the Australian Open.

    I mean, he lost now twice in a row to a guy who he had previously never lost to before. And to add to that, his wrist might be injured a bit too!!Hopefully, its just a minor thing and everything will be ok when the AO starts.

    But do you realise that to keep his semifinal streak alive after the AO, he may have to beat either Murray, Davydenko, Roddick or Soderling!!!!

    • Elisha says :

      exactly, those four people you mentioned are tough competitors. I’ve never really underestimated Davydenko, but I always sat through the matches with him and Fed semi-comfortably because of the H2H… That wrist business is the most worrying for me at the moment. I just want him to be injury-free for as long as possible, please!

    • dootsiez says :

      Ack! Roger better bring it, or I’ll be hurling my stilettos as darts towards him when I go to his matches!

  6. Alex says :

    Guys, posted this over on Rec.sport.tennis a few minutes back

    Federer – 843(15 slams)
    Hewitt – 699(2 slams)
    Roddick – 669(1 slam)
    Nadal – 496(6 slams)

    Federer has played 347 more matches then Nadal being 4 years and 10
    months older. For Nadal to reach the same # of career matches by the
    same age(28.5) he’d have to average 6 matches a month until that
    point. That includes off-season. Does anyone honestly think Nadal has
    347 “top flight” matches left in him? I bet no more then 100-120 at
    best.

    BTW I calculated that through 2007 Dubai(when Fed could always be
    arsed), he played 620 career matches. I’d like to see Rafa bust past
    that barrier and still play top-flight tennis in ALL events. Until
    then anyone bashing Roger should really shut the fuck up.

    Also it’s obvious that Hewitt is on fumes by the time he got to 500
    career matches. Roddick is not, but only 1 slam to his name and has
    not always been a hard worker.

    • JFK says :

      “anyone bashing Roger should really shut the fuck up.”
      That’s right, Alex! You tell them! And I really enjoyed that Tignor article as well.

    • dootsiez says :

      Ah, rec.sport.tennis
      I used to go there. Until I decided the place had too many nutters.

      To be honest, I don’t really care if the rest of the field wins as many or more matches than Roger.

      One thing I’ve learnt over the last two years is that 1) Fed at less than 100% is still a tennis player’s dream. 2) My seat on his bandwagon is too comfy for me to get off, even if he stops winning everything under the sun. 3) He’s Roger frickin Federer! He spent the last decade getting paid to kick asses, and is still ranked No 1 in the world. Of course there’ll be Fed-bashers.😀

      Very interesting stats though, especially Fed’s numbers compared to Roddick and Hewitt, I thought those two might’ve played more matches than Roger given they attend more minor events, but apparently not.

      Impressive.

    • Blue says :

      Thanks for sharing this here, it’s truly impressive.

  7. Alex says :

    Great article by Steve Tignor:

    http://tennisworld.typepad.com/thewrap/2010/01/the-afterlife.html

    Federer may not win too many smaller events, he may suffer a few bizarre upsets, but that should only make him savor the chance to prove himself against a guy like del Potro on the big stage at a Slam that much more. In 2010, we’ll begin to see if Federer’s veteran’s knowledge and savvy can blunt the raw power of brutal youth.

    The big question is he the older veteran who will be simply blown off the court by the youngster who can hit the ball even harder then he did when he was young?

    • pban says :

      I agree with this article because it is something I myself said a few months back .Winning the hardcpurt slams will be very nearly impossible, I am pinning all my hopes on Wimby simply because other than Rafa no one can seriously challenge him there. If he does not win Wimby then …… the possibility of a slamless 2010 looms large. And I am worried about the wrist I hope it is not serious.

      • dootsiez says :

        Oh stop being so cheerful pban! LOL

        Roger is one of 3 or 4 guys with a really good shot at the two HC slams. If that’s not good enough for ya I don’t know what is.😛

        As for Wimby, I think you’ve underestimated the field there. I see Mandy making a final there soon. I see Rafa making a comeback on grass. I see Roddick driven for that one slam above all else. I see del Potro with a shot for the second week. Of course, Roger will go in as favourite for Wimbledon, but the competition is harder than you make it sound.

        On the contrary, I don’t think the idea of Roger winning more slams on hard court is “very nearly impossible” at all. In fact, the idea of Roger winning anything being “nearly impossible” is preposterous. If that’s the case for Fed, then the rest of the top 10 might as well go kill themselves.

  8. LJ says :

    aRRRRRRRRRRRRRGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    that is all

  9. Gracie says :

    It’s always painful to see the Federer lose… Oh why can’t our heroes stay on top for EVER?
    Secretly, I would like to see Kolya win something BIG before his career is over, though. Not so secretly, I’d love to see him whup Rafa’s famous ass in the Doha final.

  10. grace says :

    Roger will be back.I think he didn´t put his all into this match.I seem to recall in 2008, doubters talking about retirement, and now the same because he lost a 250 tournament, it´s getting boring now.

    • dootsiez says :

      LOL I can’t believe people are getting down about a smaller tournament. Sure Fed didn’t play his best, but yer know, first tournament of the year etc.

      Rafa lost to Monfils 64 64 here last year. Look what happened a few weeks later!

  11. pban says :

    doots what about the arm /wrist whatever ? does it look bad ?

    • dootsiez says :

      He looked uncomfortable with it from the start, it really affected the backhand. In the second set, I saw him nursing it during the second set.

      He’s downplaying it, so I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt and Davydenko all credit.

Leave a Reply

