Time to P-A-R-T-A-Y!


Midgets of the world REJOICE! Justine Henin is coming back.

AWWW YEAAAH!

 

federer-woohoo

 

Time to pop open the champaign, down a few beers, or perhaps a round of Fedrinkas is more your thang. Let’s clink our glasses and toast to the return of Justine Henin 2.0!

 

Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

 

In the words of Ms Juju herself: 

 

“I was very impatient and I am really happy and profoundly moved to be able to announce this evening that I will return to competition very quickly.

“I know it is surprising since, on May 14th 2008, I had put a definite end to my tennis career.”

“But then there was a long personal journey, I think, in these last 15 months, which were enriching.” 

Henin said, “I found out many more things about myself and all of this allowed me to concentrate and then there was a flame which lit up again, which I thought had been blown out forever, and little by little this desire to come back, to live things differently, with wisdom, more maturity and through sharing as well.”

“Somewhere out there I was missing people and I want to relive this adventure with them.”

Source: Sky News

 

Feel that fire baby, feel that fire! 

 

DOMINIQUE FAGET/AFP/Getty Images

 

Justine’s coach, Carlos Rodriguez, revealed that Wimbledon was one of her main motivations in coming back. 

 

“I swear I was extremely surprised,” he said. “I’m happy because at the end of the day it’s what she loves. 

“She has entrusted me (to be her coach) once again and I will try to never let her down.

“I’m very happy to be helping her to restart her new life. It’s a super challenge for her.

The desire to win Wimbledon is one of the main reasons she’s come back and I’ll do everything to help her do it.
Source: Sky Sports

 

Yes Juju, we’ve got some unfinished business at Wimbledon, and I dare say some unfinished business with the Williams sisters and a certain Sharpie. 

 

WTA Tour chief Stacey Allaster released a statement to welcome back Henin.

 

“Justine is one of the great champions in the history of women’s tennis and we, along with millions of her fans around the globe, are thrilled with her announcement today.” 

“Justine is that rare athlete who decided to step away from the game at the height of her powers and no doubt she will be a force to be reckoned with. Her career was marked by so many amazing moments and a new chapter begins today.”

 

A new chapter or the good ol’ days reloaded? Lemme see: Clijsters is back. The Pova’s back. Venus and Serena are hanging around. Ana, Dina and the two Lenas aren’t doing much, and hell – that’s just the way I like it. And now Justine returns?

The epic awesomeness can be captured in this picture: 

 

Image Credit: AP

 

That’s where we left off last time.

 

And what does this mean for the tour? I’m not naive enough to think that every comeback is going to be like Clijsters’ amazing run at the US Open. Henin will have her work cut out for her.

But one thing is certain: the days of looking to total clowns for our WTA tennis high are over. Venus, Serena, Kim, Pova and Justine, we now have 5 women back on the WTA tour who aren’t scared shitless just by the idea of success.

We also have this again: 

 

 

It seems like coming back is the new retirement in sport these days, so who’s next on the comeback trail?

Mary Pierce? Anastasia Myskina? Shall I have my torch wood ready to burn Martina Hingis alight with grand slam desires? You know what? Just bring back Steffi Graf! 

All these comebacks also raise a more interesting question – should tennis introduce rules for sabbatical breaks? It’s obvious that physically and emotionally, women’s tennis (and men’s too, to a lesser extent) has become a complete burn out. Then why not codify the possibility of taking a sabbatical year? 

I can imagine plenty of oppositions to the idea, but it’s one we need to think about given the recent spate of comebacks.

 

 

Meanwhile, we have at least another 3 years to enjoy Justine’s tennis again.

I’ll toast to that again.

xx doots

Tags:

15 responses to “Time to P-A-R-T-A-Y!”

  1. Julie says :

    That backhand, that beautiful backhand… How I missed you Juju! And what’s more, she said Federer inspired her to come back with his win at RG. Thank you Roger, you are the gift that keeps on giving (no irony there)!

    Serena girl, it’s time to stop pimping your book and your jewerly line! Get back on those courts and start training, the Queen is back and wants your throne. Safina and Ivanovic, can’t say it was a pleasure but I do hope I won’t see any of you in a Grand Slam final for the next 5 years! Best of luck in uh life!

    • dootsiez says :

      Hehehe I love it how everything has to do with Roger😉

      I can’t wait til the next Serena v Masha Fierce/Justine/Kim/Vee match. The WTA tour is going to be HOT next year.

  2. Tashi says :

    Yes! Yes, yes, yes!

  3. Dippy says :

    About time too…WTA is getting a bit boring with grunto and one dimensional players (sorry but that is how i see it)….

  4. breadstix says :

    YAAAY! So happy when I heard the news.😀 There’s renewed hope for the WTA after all.

  5. JFK says :

    Ana Ivanovic and Dinara Safina are crying their eyes out.

  6. Liz says :

    Ha! I love the Fed celebration!

    I bet the WTA begged her on bended knee to make the comeback. It’s so sweet the relationship she has with her coach — “she has entrusted me once again and I will try never to let her down.” I love that.

    • dootsiez says :

      I love how he’s like a father figure towards her cos they’ve been through a lot since she was 13.

      It’s nice that they actually work with each other instead of him just yelling at her. A certain Dina and Zeljko should take note.

  7. sly says :

    wow the fed clip is really funny… it’s nice to have a wide smile early in the morning…

    why can’t all the players in the wta tour be inspired by Roger too for a much better competition… I guess it’s either they don’t want the challenge or they can’t handle the challenged…

    • dootsiez says :

      Roger’s pretty rare no? Being hunted doesn’t seem to get to him as much. I doubt that’s how Dina or JJ felt last year. I guess Justine has this in common with Fed, neither of them seem to be scared of being successful.

      And I just *had* to put up that Fed clip. USO08 was pure gold!

      • sly says :

        Agree… Roger is really on the run for a bigger picture.. surpassing Petes’ record is just a certain stage for him.. I think he wants to solidify his name as a legend…

        Justine loves to push herself to the limit… she loves the challenge specially when her back is against he wall… she’s has this unique awesome player quality that raises her game whenever the smell of defeat is evident… with all those 0-5, 1-5, down a set matches in her career… one can only be mesmerized…

        She also plays point by point, minute by minute in her life or rather second after second… if she wins or loss a match she always said afterwards… “it’s in the past na”…. and focuses on the present situation…

  8. Jodi says :

    I have another suggestion for a comeback. She’s been out since 2002, but how about a comeback for our very own Mirka Federer?😛

Leave a Reply

