ATP Beijing: Dear trophy, let’s switch places.


 

Not to be deterred by his loss in Thailand last week, Jo-Willy Tsonga managed to get his serve and forehand sorted out in Tokyo this week, winning his semifinal and final matches without being broken once. 

I only saw the first set, but that was all I needed to see. Jo powered his way around the baseline, jumping in occasionally to mix things up. And the sight of Youzhny flourishing a backhand down-the-line still had me frothing at the mouth. 

Despite some early chances for Mikhail, once Jo found the range on his serve in the 3rd game, it was all just one-way traffic. Jo wrapped things up 63 63 for his 3rd title this year and to edge him closer to a place in the YECs in London.

Hopefully this gives him a boost going into Shanghai, although I have my doubts about someone as prone to injuries as Tsonga playing 3 tournaments in consecutive weeks

 

 

Also picking up his third title this year, Novak Djokovic took down Marin Cilic 62 76 for the shiny cauldron in Beijing.

 I was afraid that after a huge upset yesterday, Marin would have a letdown and that was essentially the story of the first set.

Cilic came into the match with nowhere near the sort of pace and accuracy on his groundstrokes as he had against Nadal. Although Marin raised his level in the second set and had a chance to serve it out at 6-5, he promptly gave back the break with his first double fault of the match. And really, when you’ve only won 5/15 points on your second serve for the set, one would almost expect the untimely double fault. 

All credit to Djokovic, who took exploited the Cilic second serve, and err … defended well, which seems to be the thing I’ve said the most consistently about his game this year. 

As for next year? Watch out for him on clay

 

 

Okay, so maybe I don’t want to switch places with that mother of a trophy. 

xx doots

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “ATP Beijing: Dear trophy, let’s switch places.”

  1. FortuneCookie says :

    God I love Jo’s hair.And Jo.That is all. 😉

  2. pban says :

    Well he had a great clay court season this year as well,the thing with djoko is that he wears himself out by playing too many shots to win a point.It never works against Rafa, and you have to get thru him to win on clay.

  3. TopSpin says :

    Gael, Gilles and Jo-Willy winning three out of three consecutive events means I’ve no further reason to remain on my self imposed exile from French tennis.

    Would it be too much to ask if we could aim a little higher than the 500 level though?

    • dootsiez says :

      LOL sheesh Topspin, you demand rather a lot from French tennis for a Brit … You know that deep down you just want to adopt Jo, Gale and Gilles. You know you do 😉

  4. Julie says :

    Jo mon amour, congrats! Goddess, that hair, that smile, the delicious-looking chocolate skin… (wiping drool of chin). He needs to win a GS in 2010. I’d really want it to be RG because I know the crowd (and me) would go crazy. After taking Rafa out in the semis, he’d duke it out with Fed in the finals in a tense five-setter… Well I can always dream! He’ll probably get injured after the AO and would resurface barely in time for the USO!

    • dootsiez says :

      hmm Jo-Willy doesn’t have a clay court game though. I think if he was to win a slam, it’s more likely to be at the USO, provided that he’s not injured of course.

  5. pban says :

    JoWilly is delightful.But a grandslam and on clay,I think wishing for the moon would make more sense.Winning 7 best of 5 matches would involve winning even on days you are playing awful I don’t think he has the head for that .And what is this nonsense about him taking out roger in a GS final,seriously Roger where are you?It seems some need reminding.

    • Julie says :

      lol That’s what happens when someone decides to take a loooong break. I haven’t seen Roger on my tv or any type of screen really for what, 2 weeks? I’m beginning to forget stuff about him like how disdainful his face turns when he loses a challenge, how he tucks the ball gently into his pocket, how he swipes the sweat off his forehead with that elegant motion… yeah I forgot a lot of things. Absence doesn’t make the heart grow fonder, it makes you forget important stuff!

      As for Jo and his consistency problem, true but I think if he manages to pick less injuries during the year, he’ll be more consistent. I think both he and Marin have GS champ potential (and even if every cells in my brain scream that it’s a lost cause, I still dream of Ernie Gulbis as a GS champ too!).

      • dootsiez says :

        ^ Julie, the heart will grow fonder when you get to see Roger again. It’ll grow so fond that you’ll think Roger is fondling your heart.

        Does Switzerland have a paparazzi? If yes, then they FAIL.

Leave a comment